

JCC: Nigerian Government

Committee Dossier

Note: Position assignments are dependent on registration and are not all guaranteed to be filled in committee session.

Joseph Tarka: Nigerian Politician	Joseph Tarka was a strong Nigerian politician who fought against certain elections, and ran for office in Nigeria. Gowon later awarded him with more power.
Chukwuma "Kaduna" Nzeogwu: Nigerian Chief Instructor	Nzeogwu played a leading role in the 1966 coup d'etat which overthrew the first Nigerian Republic. He was rarely trusted to hold commanding power.
Shehu Musa Yar'adua: Nigerian Leader	Shehu Musa Yar'adua was a prominent voice in the affairs of the Nigerian Civil War. He firmly believed in a United Nigeria.
Benjamin Adekunle: Nigerian Military Officer	Benjamin Adekenle was required to make tough decisions during the Nigerian Civil War. One of his tasks included leading two Nigerian battalions.
Theophilus Danjuma: Chief of Army Staff of Nigeria	Theophilus Danjuma played a key role in independence and political movements in Nigeria by participating in Nigeria's governmental system. He gained an enormous fortune through shipping and petroleum.
Emmanuel Ifeajuna: Nigerian Military Leader	While surprisingly good at sports, Emmanuel Ifeajuna's military decisions created controversy in Nigeria. He was one of the leaders in the 1966 coup d'etat in January.
Hassan U. Katsina: Military Governor of Nigeria	Appointed by Aguiyi-Ironsi, General Hassan U. Katsina was extremely generous with his money. He was the former military governor of the Northern region in Nigeria.
Chief Awolowo: Nigerian Statesman	Awolowo was a strong advocate of independence, nationalism, federalism, and social welfare. From 1954-1959 he was the Western Premier of Nigeria, and founded the political party, "Action Group".

General Yakubu Gowon: Nigerian Head of State	General Yakubu Gowon was first Aguiyi-Ironsi's chief of staff, but after coups and disruption he gained a promotion. In his position of power he attempted to dissolve ethnic tensions in Nigeria.
Harold Wilson: Prime Minister of the United Kingdom	Wilson was Prime Minister of Britain, holding social democratic and trade unionist views. He led Britain in their involvement with Nigeria during this time.
Murtala Mohammed: Head of State for Nigeria	Murtala Mohammed worked closely with Gowon, and led a 1966 coup to overthrow Aguiyi-Ironsi. He initiated many changes during his time in office.
Nelson Bossman Soroh: Chief of Naval Staff of Nigeria	Nelson Bossman Soroh was the first seaman officer to become the Chief of the Naval Staff. His career consisted of many record-breaking achievements.
Joseph Akahan: Chief of Army Staff of Nigeria	Joseph Akahan was the head of the Nigerian Army and a native of Gboko. His duty consisted of ensuring no Nigerian land fell into the hands of Biafra.
Colonel Shittu Alao: Chief of Air Staff of Nigeria	Colonel Shittu Alao was a promising young leader in Nigeria who controlled the Nigerian airforce with strength and confidence.
Charles de Gaulle: President of France	Gaulle served as the President of France during this time and his main goals were to stop Soviet advances in Nigeria but to also acquire relations and resources from Nigeria.
Jacques Foccart: Chief Advisor to French Presidents on African Affairs	Foccart was a French businessman and politician. He served as a lead coordinator for France's policy involvement with Africa and took action regarding issues with Nigeria.
Aleksey Nikolayevich Kosygin: Premier of the Soviet Union	Kosygin was an influential politician and leader of the Soviet Union during involvement with Nigeria. He is marked as one of the most influential Soviet policymakers.
Leonid Brezhnev: General Secretary of the Soviet Union	Brezhnev worked in accordance with Aleksey Kosygin, Premier of the Soviet Union, as the first secretary and Chairman of the Council of Ministers.
Nnamdi Azikiwe: First President of Independent Nigeria	Nnamdi Azikiwe was the President of Nigeria up till the Civil War. Many of his elections were contested, and he eventually threw his support in the civil war to the federal government.

	<u> </u>
Sir James W. Robertson: Governor-General of Nigeria	Robertson was a British civil servant who acted as the final colonial governor-general of Nigeria, before Nigeria gained independence from Britain.
Julius Nyerere: President of Tanzania	Nyerere governed Tanzania during this time and held anti-colonial views. As Tanzania and Nigeria gained independence around the same time, they held close relations. Nyerere also served as a key leader of the Organization of African Unity (OAU).
Lieutenant-General Joseph Arthur Ankrah of Ghana: Head of State of Ghana	General Ankrah was Chairman of the National Liberation Council, and eventually arranged the location for the Aburi Accords to occur.
Alhaji Kam Selem: Inspector-General of Police of Nigeria	Alhaji Kam Selem held the longest term in the Inspector-General of Police position and held this position during military rule. He had to deal with coups and murders throughout Nigeria.
Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa: Prime Minister of Nigeria	Balewa was a politician in Nigeria who also served as the one and only Prime Minister of Nigeria. He supported the relations between Nigeria and Britain.
Kwame Nkrumah: Head of the Organization of African Unity (OAU)	As many African nations reached independence from European colonizers, Nkrumah founded the Organization of African Unity which encouraged the development of the newly sovereign African countries such as Nigeria.