

Republic of Ireland

Committee Dossier

Note: Position assignments are dependent on registration and are not all guaranteed to be filled in committee session.

Éamon de Valera: President and Taoiseach of the Republic of Ireland	A prominent Irish revolutionary and political leader, who played a vital role in the establishment of the Irish Republic and served as the President of the Irish Republic and later as the Taoiseach (Prime Minister) of Ireland.
Michael Collins: Leading figure in Irish Free State	A key figure in the Irish independence movement, Collins was instrumental in organizing the Irish Volunteers and the IRA. He played a significant role in the Anglo-Irish Treaty negotiations and became a leading figure in the early years of the Irish Free State.
Constance Markievicz: Leader of the Easter Rising	An influential suffragette, nationalist, and socialist, Markievicz was one of the prominent leaders of the Easter Rising and became the first woman elected to the British Parliament (although she did not take her seat).
Arthur Griffith: Co-founder of Sinn Féin	A journalist, writer, and political leader, Griffith co-founded the political party Sinn Féin, which advocated for Irish self-determination and played a central role in the establishment of the Irish Republic.
James Connolly: Leader in the Easter Rising	An Irish socialist and trade union leader, Connolly was one of the key commanders during the Easter Rising. He was an influential figure in both the labor movement and the fight for Irish independence.
Eoin MacNeill: Minister of Education	A revitalist of the Gaelic language, MacNeill would serve as Minister of Education because of his passion for traditional Irish culture. Early on, he headed the Irish Volunteers, a military group whose main goal was to protect the liberties of the Irish common people.
Harry Boland: President of the Irish Republican Brotherhood	President of the Irish Republican Brotherhood from 1919-1920. In his early years he was part of the republican underground network in Dublin. He was head of propaganda, and electoral campaigns for Sinn Fein, making his way to President of the IRB.

Joseph Devlin: Leader of the Nationalist Party	An Irish nationalist and long-term politician. Devlin was a member of Parliament in the House of Commons spanning from 1902-1922 and 1929-1934, then becoming the leader of the Nationalist Party in Northern Ireland's Parliament.
Kathleen Lynn: Member of the Irish Women's Suffragette	A female republican political activist for Sinn Féin. After she witnessed the horrors of disease, she decided to attend medical school at the University of Ireland. Lynn then became a member of the Irish Women's Suffragette and Local Government Association.
Diarmuid Lynch: Irish Republican linked to Sinn Féin and the Brotherhood	An Irish republican belonging to Sinn Féin, the First Dáil, and the Irish Republican Brotherhood. Emigrated to the United States for a period of 11 years but returned to Ireland and became politically active. Heavily involved in the planning of Easter Rising.
Erskine Childers: Author of <i>The</i> Riddle of the Sands	Born in London, Childers grew up as a Unionist but became an Irish republican as he got older. He became a junior committee clerk in the House of Commons, but his crowning achievement was writing <i>The Riddle of the Sands</i> .
St John Brodrick: Unionist Member of Parliament	Unionist politician and British Conservative who served as a Member of Parliament from 1880-1906. Broderick was the Secretary of State during the Second Boer War. He was sworn into the Privy Council in 1897.
Edward Carson: Irish Attorney General	Irish Unionist politician, judge, and Attorney General and Solicitor General for the UK. Carson was a member of H.H. Asquith's war cabinet during his role as Prime Minister.
James Craig: First Prime Minister of Northern Ireland	First Prime Minister of Northern Ireland. As one of the Unionist's leaders, he helped shape the devolution of Northern Ireland. Accepted the six counties of Ulster opting out of dominion statehood or self-governing outlined in the Anglo-Irish treaty.
Horace Plunkett: Irish Senator	Irish Home Rule advocate, who became an Irish Senator. Plunkett was originally a Unionist, but was open minded as long as it served the Irish people well. Later he became a member of the first formation of Seanad Éireann.
Elizabeth McCracken: Feminist writer	Suffragette who became a well-known feminist writer living in Northern Ireland. She was a unionist, but did not agree with Ulster Unionists refusing a votes-for-women pledge. After the formation of Northern Ireland, she continued to campaign for women's rights.

Frank Aiken: Chief of Staff of the Anti-Treaty IRA	Irish revolutionary who served as chief of staff of the Anti-Treaty IRA at the end of the Irish Civil War. Also served a Teachta Dála (TD) for the Louth constituency making him the second-longest serving member of Dáil Éireann. After he left Sinn Féin, he founded Fianna Fáil.
Richard Mulcahy: Commander-in-chief of the National Army	Army general and a Fine Gael politician who became Minister of Education, and Minister of Defence. He served as a Teachta Dála and participated in the Easter Rising, becoming Commander-in-Chief of the National Army in the Irish Civil War.
W. T. Cosgrave: President of Dáil Éireann	Fine Gael politician who became the first president of the Executive Council of the Irish Free State. He served as the leader president of Fine Gael for ten years, then became the president of Dáil Éireann. He is considered to be the first Taoiseach (formal Prime Minister title) as he was the Free State's first leader, but was never given the title due to its creation after his term.
Kevin O'Higgins: Member of Irish Volunteers	Higgins was a member of the Irish Volunteers and Sinn Féin before being jailed in 1918. He was elected as a Member of Parliament while imprisoned and continued to move up the ranks within the Irish government.
Eamonn Duggan: Sinn Féin Teachta Dála	Duggan was a participant in the Easter Rising, eventually being elected as a Sinn Féin Teachta Dála in the 1918 election. He continued to support the Republican movement, eventually becoming the IRA Director of Intelligence.
Tom Barry: Member of Anti-Treaty IRA	Barry was a guerilla leader in the Irish Republican Army. Originally serving in the British army during World War I, he would eventually leave this position following the Easter Rising. As a member of the Anti-Treaty IRA and a Republican, he believed the Irish should not sign the Anglo-Irish treaty.
Eoin O'Duffy: Secretary of Sinn Féin's North Monaghan council	O'Duffy joined the Irish Volunteers in 1917 as a Republican who gradually began to climb the ranks of the militia group. He also joined the Irish Republican Brotherhood, while also serving as the secretary of Sinn Féin's North Monaghan area council.
Séan McGarry: President of the Irish Republican Brotherhood	McGarry was President of the Irish Republican Brotherhood. He was arrested in 1918 as one of the several Irish nationalists suspected in the German Plot conspiracy that tied Sinn Féin to the German Empire.

John Dillon: Last leader of the Irish Parliamentary Party	A Dublin politician who supported Irish nationalism and Home Rule, Dillon served over 30 years as a Member of Parliament. He was the last leader of the Irish Parliamentary Party.
John Sweetman: Co-founder and President of Sinn Féin	Irish nationalist politician who became an Anti-Parnellite Irish National Federation Member of Parliament in the 1890s, Sweetman was one of the founders of Sinn Féin, and served as its president for 3 years.